• Register Today It's free!

Another auto hub question.

94eb4x4

Reaction score
City, State
So Daytona Fl.
Year, Model & Trim Level
03 Limited AWD V8
Hey guys and gals. Newbie here and have a question. I have a 94 explorer 4x4 eb. I have read a bunch of writeups here and could not find the answer to this question. How exactly does the axle connect to the hub? I did the "spin the front drive shaft and see if the wheels turn". Nothing happens up front at all. Everything engages up to the spindle / hub area. When I spin it or even drive it with the hub off, there is nothing happening in the spindle area except the drive shaft spinning. What should i be looking for? They do have a lot of grease on them, I plan on cleaning both, hub and spindle area with brake clean and atf. Yes it is in 4 wheel drive when i am testing if your wondering. Thank you guys and gals for any info.:scratch:

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

so when you spin the front drive shaft the axle shafts turn but not the wheel/spindle?

Yes, the axles engage but the hubs dont. When I spin the axel with the hub off, the axel turns and the rotors sit still. Nothing else looks like it would engage the hubs in any way.

Just like any other drive system, the splines on the end of the axles is what engages the hub to drive it. The other mechanisms surrounding the axle on the spindle and inside the hub are what lock it.

Generally if the splined axle spins that means the driveshaft and differential are working. If the hubs don't lock to turn the wheels, that means the engagement mechanisms aren't working.