• Register Today It's free!

Horn repair stalled -'95 Explorer

avid.explorer

Reaction score
City, State
USA
Year, Model & Trim Level
'95 XLT
My 1995 Explorer's horn quit working quite some tme ago.
Did some research on this board and had a go at self repair. But I am stalled.

My horn doesn't work; yes, my cruise control works fine; my A/C and heater are variable.

I checked all the fuses in the interior fuse panel with a fuse tester - they apparently are OK; the #2Relay/Horn under the hood in the PowerDistributionBox makes clicking sounds when the steering column horn pad is depressed.

I accessed the horns via pulling back the plastic left-wheelwell mudguard, detached the one blue connector wire, and using fine sand paper - abradded the connector pin; then replaced the blue wire ... @#$%^&*

still nothing.

I'm not a skilled mechanic and I don't have an oham meter, so I didn't test the blue wire for power.

Also, and this is what caused me to abort my attempts - the 2 high&low horns were attached to an arm which couldn't be unbolted from below - a mechanic would have try to release the horn(s) assembly from a very tight area in front of the battery. Since I wasn't even sure power existed to the horns, I became very reluctant to tear out whatever from above, just based upon hopes.

An oham meter and perhaps new OEM horns minimally would cost upwards of $70 ($20 for cheap meter and $27/for each horn (high & low frequency)). The money's not a issue, but dog-gone-it, success is.

Suggestions? Encouragement? Direction? ALL VERY WELCOME AT THIS TIME.

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

avid.explorer said:
My 1995 Explorer's horn quit working quite some tme ago.
Did some research on this board and had a go at self repair. But I am stalled.