interior modifications | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

interior modifications

carls92sport

Reaction score
My name is Carl Schaaf. I am interested in modifing my 92 Sport. I'm new to this and so far this site has been helpful in explaining some things. For one it looks like it will take a while to achieve the ultimate goal,(lack of funds issue) but I'm optomistic that I can begin the planning and SAVING process due to the information I have found so far. Thank you. With that said, I am also looking for information about interior modifications. In particular I'm interested in fabricating something to accomidate sleeping for when I take long road trips. I've got the 2 door model and I am just over 6 ft so space is limited. Any ideas? Thanks agian and I look forward to learning more and hopefully hooking up with some of you to do some wheelin. Carl.

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

Well Carl, let me start off by welcoming you to the board and the best site on the web! The best person to give you advice on modifying your interior to make for sleeping would be Matt Adams. He fabricated a platform in the back of his truck and there is a thread somewhere around here on it. From my understanding Matt is about 6'9", but he has the four door model. I think you should be able to work something out in a Sport. I am just about 6' and I fit in the back of my four door when I have slept in my truck. Here are a couple of threads that may help you out:

Dead Link Removed

http://www.explorerforum.com/forums/showthread.php?threadid=21132

Hope this helps! Let us know what you end up doing and welcome to the site!

[Edited by NoBoundaries on 12-14-2000 at 06:03 PM]