• Register Today It's free!

Transmission issue

MikeC99017

Reaction score
City, State
Denver, CO
Year, Model & Trim Level
02 Explorer Eddie Bauer
I apologize in advance if this is in the wrong place. I'm still learning my way around. I have an '02 Explorer with a V8. Last week I was driving and when slowing down to turn a corner or stop for a stop sign/light, the RPMs dropped and the engine died. I put it in neutral and it started right up, but continued to die at slow speeds when stopping or turning. I installed a new IAC valve and that seems to have cured the low idle/stalling problem, but now when I pull up to a stop light it seems like I have to press harder on the brake petal to stop. Then when I am stopped, the engine seems to lug a little bit like the car is trying to lunge forward. Now, in order to avoid the lunging when I'm stopped, I have to put the car in neutral as I'm coming to a stop and then put it back in drive when it's time to go. The car only has 77K miles on it and it's been great up to this point. If anyone has had a similar experience or knows what kind of repair might be needed, I would love to hear about it. Thanks in advance.

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

I'm curious to know what RPMs you are seeing when you are at the stop light and the tranny is in neutral. Is it around 750 RPM?

It is possible that you got a bum IAC. It is also possible that you have the common problem with the cracked rubber elbow in the vacuum line. The rubber line elbow I speak of is the one that is on the hose runs under your IAC line. The elbow is within a inch of the IAC. See the following post: http://www.explorerforum.com/forums/showpost.php?p=1965554&postcount=11

It does sound like a vacuum problem. Check them for leaks or loose connections.