Timing chain question | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

Timing chain question

Reaction score
City, State
Sudbury
Year, Model & Trim Level
01 sport
Hey guys im new to this awesome site but am looking for a couple answers regarding the timing chain "tick" as they call it. Ive got an 01 sport with the SOHC 4.0 and at exactly 2500 rpm it "ticks" or almost sounds like an exhaust leak. Ive Bought the 00m12 recall kit and installed the new gaskets wich helped the stalling issue when cold, but the dealer says the tick is something else other than the chain tensioner. Has anyone else ever had this "tick" ??? And is it caused by the tensioner??

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

I had the tick on my 99 SOHC. It sounded like a diesel engine and I started having a really bad idle in cold. This was before I gave my vehicles the attention they deserved and so I didn't take it too seriously. Eventually my timing belt slipped and I had to replace the engine. If you take it to any reputable mechanic, they'll be able to hear it right away and tell you whether it is, indeed, a loosening timing chain. Unfortunately I think it's pretty expensive to have fixed (I've seen $600-700). I had the whole engine replaced for $2000.

Thanks bpopp, does anyone else think that this tick is caused by the recalled timing chain tensioner?? Would hate to waste my money if it wasnt!!

No. i dont think it would be a "tick", but more a rattle!

I have the same problem, and im turning it into ford to have it looked over so i know thats whats wrong. They should do a free inspection.

I have an 1997 V8 Auto that is also making the ticking noise when I accelerate. It just sounds like tick, tick tick. Almost like an exhaust leak up front. Does that sound like an exhaust leaking or timing chain?