Heat Is Too Cool, Gauge Jumps Around | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

Heat Is Too Cool, Gauge Jumps Around

gregthomas

Reaction score
City, State
Irvine, KY
Year, Model & Trim Level
'95 Eddie Bauer
Hi, I'm a newb to this forum and this is my first post. I did search here but I haven't really found an answer to my problem. I have a '95 Eddie Bauer that has a strange problem. The temp gauge goes up and down as I drive. It usually goes from right on the bottom mark of the normal range to half way up, and continues this no matter how long I drive. Sometimes if the temp is below 30 degrees out, it will dip down below the normal range. Also, the temp of the heater goes up and down too, but it doesn't seem to be in sync with the engine temp. I replaced the thermostat, flushed and burped the system but that hasn't helped. One thing I noticed was that the old thermostat I took out was in backwards. At least I think. The pointed end was inside the engine block and the spring end was inside the housing that goes over it. Anyway, I put it in both ways and it made no difference. Which way is it supposed to go and does anyone have any pointers to the temp gauge/heater problem.

Thanks,
Greg

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

Spring side goes toward the engine, the little bypass hole goes toward the top. I put the thermostat in backwards on my Ranger once, and it wouldn't warm up properly..

Thanks dogfriend, the old one I took out was backwards and I put the new one in the same way. When it still had the same problem, I turned it around the other way. It is in correct now then, but I still have the same problem.