LEDs Under Radio (pics)!!!! 2nd gen | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

LEDs Under Radio (pics)!!!! 2nd gen

Well i am just getting into the LED kick and i was building just a practice board and it came out pretty good so i figured id put it to good use this ...

Keep in mind my stock radio trim is trimmed down a bit to fit the Double Din nav that I have in the ex but this board should fit either way..

What you will need
-3-5 mm LEDs (I used the radio shack LEDs)
-Project Board from radio shack
-10 guage wire for leads
-Drill bit
-Sodder w./flux (radio shack)
-Soddering Iron
-Hot Glue Gun/Glue

The (first) LED Build
First i built the LED board, the board measures 1/2 inch x 2 1/2 inch. I layed out the LEDs at- 0 1 2 -inch on the board 3 in total.

Connect the leads together and run them out 1 of the 1/2 inch sides so it looks like this.

IMG_3744.JPG

Installation
First I had to take out the radio trim (not hard for me i dont use the screws) just take out the two screws underneath the radio and pull the trim towards you, a little prybar/screwdriver helps.

then turn the trim over you will notice three pieces of plastic tabs

This is a good guide for your center led to sit and it actuall just so happens to be exactly 1 inch apart

Drill holes large enough to fit the bulbs in i used the soddering iron and just melted them through

Place board into holes and hot glue onto trim
IMG_37501.JPG

Wire leads to eiither a switch or like I did i wired it to be on with the interior lights so far i love it it gives nice light to the middle cupholders and the pockets.

put trim back in

Finally....
IMG_3751.JPG

IMG_3752.JPG

If i missed something dont hesitate to ask

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

What are the specs of those LEDs, and what power source did you wire them to?