Need New Tires

radman

Elite Explorer
Reaction score
City, State
Camby
Year, Model & Trim Level
99 Eddie 5.0
:exp:After about 65K miles my old Goodyear's are getting lumpy. What do you folks recommend for a mostly highway driven car used in the snow and ice Midwest. I would like something a little quieter than the Wanglers also.

Has anyone tried the Goodyear Silent Armor tires?

Thanks
Mike

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

I've heard good things about Firestone Destination LE tires from a friend. I have no personal experience because I always go All Terrain instead. I imagine almost all All Season tires are about the same. You probably can't get worse than goodyear. They are junk.

I like the BF Goodrich all terrain or land terrains

Can't say what brand is best. But I'll be buying some soon and have been doing some research. Seems that Exploders are sensitive to vibration. I'd suggest finding a shop that uses one of the new loaded pressure balancing systems. It not only measures balance, but checks that the tire is basically round. Get the spec for max out of round/balance before you buy, and ask to see the report after they balance. That's what I plan to do.

What do you folks recommend for a mostly highway driven car used in the snow and ice Midwest.

You need two sets of tires. One for highway, the other for winter/snow.
None of the "highway" tires will handle well on snow.

General Grabber AT2's

:exp:After about 65K miles my old Goodyear's are getting lumpy. What do you folks recommend for a mostly highway driven car used in the snow and ice Midwest. I would like something a little quieter than the Wanglers also.

Has anyone tried the Goodyear Silent Armor tires?

Thanks
Mike

You did not specify which wrangler you have, but if they are the Wrangler RT/S they are JUNK. Worst tire I have ever had on a truck.