A4ld Explorer 1992 Front Leak

RGDEMIGUEL

Reaction score
City, State
Madrid, Spain, Europe
Year, Model & Trim Level
Explorer XLT '98 4.0 SOHC
Hi guys,

I'm the owner of an Explorer 92 with 185000Km now in Madrid, Spain.
A few weeks ago I noticed a big leak between the bellhousing and the engine(about 1 litre atf leak) while driving on a mountain road uphill. The day after I refilled and I drived to my house downhill without leaking.
I have been reading in this forum and others about this problem and I think the front seal is gone. Although I have read some threads about A4ld transmissions leak, I have some questions...
I'm not an expert but I like to fix my own cars as far as I can. Here, in Spain(Madrid) there are a few Ford Explorers and automatic transmissions a not so popular as in the USA.
So, the idea is do it by myself having all the details and the necesary tools.
I would apreciate a lot your advice and indications to help me to fix my trans problem and to increase my poor knoledge about automatic transmisions.
Here are my questions for you:
I have read part of the threat "my A4ld transmission diary" and I have an idea of what I have to do to change the front seal,and to remove the bushing(on the bellhousing), but I do not know how can I install correctly the new bushing and pump aligment.
I have whached a video youtube "4R44E Pump Alignment Without Spcial Tool" where you can see how a pump is aligned without any special tool. What do you think about? Is it possible on a 92 a4ld?
About the new busshing installation, do I need any specific tool to install it correctly? I have read something about "bushing machined", what does it mean exactly?

I would like to start droping(pulling) the transmission in the coming weeks-days. If you have any recommendation...I will also apreciate it.

I love this american car that I use on weekends and holidays.
Sorry about my english level, too long ago since I was in the USA studying english.

Thank you all for your help.