Buying a 2016 sport, need some help with the price | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

Buying a 2016 sport, need some help with the price

Yiming Yao

Reaction score
City, State
Tempe, Arizona
Year, Model & Trim Level
2007 Passat
Hi guys, I'm a newbie here, found it's a very active and helpful place.

We want to buy a 2016 sport (preferably with 400A package), but we have difficulties with a reasonable price to negotiate, as we don't have much experiences.

One of the dealers gave us a price of a sport with 401A of $49090.84 (xplan, invoice is $49001.95), the MSRP is $51260. We are in Arizona and the sale tax is 5.6%, so the out door price may add up somewhere $2000 above MSRP with other fees.

So would it be reasonable that I can target at an OTD $1000-2000 below MSRP or even lower? Thank you in advance!

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

Hi guys, I'm a newbie here, found it's a very active and helpful place.

We want to buy a 2016 sport (preferably with 400A package), but we have difficulties with a reasonable price to negotiate, as we don't have much experiences.

One of the dealers gave us a price of a sport with 401A of $49090.84 (xplan, invoice is $49001.95), the MSRP is $51260. We are in Arizona and the sale tax is 5.6%, so the out door price may add up somewhere $2000 above MSRP with other fees.

So would it be reasonable that I can target at an OTD $1000-2000 below MSRP or even lower? Thank you in advance!

You already are $2K UNDER MSRP (see bold above) .... expecting to get the whole deal with sales tax under MSRP might be a challenge.
The tax goes to the state, not the dealer so they are working with you on pricing but no incentive for them to do all the deal under MSRP.

Have you tried other dealers to compare pricing?