• Register Today It's free!

2020 Explorer - Harsh Shifting

JB Dial

Reaction score
City, State
Dublin, Ga
Year, Model & Trim Level
2020, Explorer Limited
Update: The Ford representative called me back. They are speaking with the service director at my local dealership to determine the next part or group of parts above what is needed in the bulletin since they are unable to get all of the parts in because of a national back order. She communicated they are discussing whether or not to replace the entire transmission as the next logical step to take. I am not sure how I feel about this I believe I would rather replace parts than an entire transmission at this point but I am no mechanic.

We have a 2020 Limited Explorer. It is harsh shifting from 1st to 2nd or 2nd to 3rd. Not sure which and it generally seems to be when we leave the house initially for the day. Initially the TSB for transmission cooler replacement showed up on my wife's Ford Pass app so we took in to have replaced. Still experiencing issues. I dont know the exact mileage but it was at the last oil change so probably around 10K miles. Car currently has 14K miles on the odometer and is approx. 1 year old next month.

I took the car back into the dealership and I was informed there was a new bulletin dated November 19, 2020 - titled 10R60/10R80-Harsh Engagement/Harsh Shift/Delayed Shift with or without DTCs.

I was told the parts are on back order Nationwide but include Main Valve Body and approx 8 more parts if need replacement after inspection.

I was also told by the technician and the Service Desk staff that it was ok for me to drive the vehicle - more about this in a minute.

Somewhat frustrated I called Ford and initiated a customer service ticket with them. I explained I had 3 concerns:
1. Longevity of the car
2. Should I really be driving the car
3. Timely repair