SuRrEaLNJ

hail to the king, baby!
Elite Explorer
Reaction score
City, State
out of my mind...
Year, Model & Trim Level
MUNK 07 Focus 97 XL1200C
while i am a profesional technician it dosnt mean that i dont do plenty of stupid things, we all do, but somethimes it gives you an oportunity to learn from the things that ive done.

thus angle grinder safety lesson one: always be aware of where the sparks are going, no matter how small of a cut youre making.

why, because being on fire is not fun
imflamable.jpg

its quite hilarious after the fact, once you put yourself out, but its really not fun at the time.

This public service anouncement brought to you by SNJ

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

Hi,

At what age would you let your Son (supervised) use a 4 1/2" grinder?

My lad is 14 years old, very sensible (more than I am at times 😆) and quite practical, he's good around the garage with hand tools and was very sensible when I let him use a mig.

I'm just a bit concerned that he won't be prepared in the event the grinder snatches.

He thinks I'm being overprotective and keeps asking to let me do his own prep. :eek:

Many thanks for any advice,

Holy smokes! Super flammable shop
Clothes!
I was in a rush one day and multi tasking, took an angle grinder to the top of a fuel tank we had already “flushed” and had running water in it…. Not smart. Tank flashed I lost all the hair on my face and burned all my skin it was nasty
Watch where the sparks go and no getting in a hurry! Hind sight I should have had a layer of baking soda on top of the water in the tank and of course a face shield
Always know where the extinguishers are and the first aid kits
I wonder if there are some “shop clothes” that are fire resistant?