School Me on Clay Barring | Page 2 | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

School Me on Clay Barring

So I've decieded to finally clay bar my ex. I've read online the basics on how to do it.

This is what I've got so far...

image.php

I'm going to clay bar the entire thing and then follow it up with this...

product_G12718.jpg

Do any of you detailing guru's have any tips?? Any dos and donts???

How much pressure do I need to use?? How often should I knead the clay??

Also, should I try to keep the clay bar away from the pinstripping?? Is the clay going to do anything to it???

Sorry for the long list of questions, but it's my first time doing some semi hardcore detailing. I've waxed the ex many times before, but never attempted the clay bar. I really need to protect my paint now, seeing how the stupid birds around here are using it for target practice :rolleyes:

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

that looks really, really really, good :thumbsup:

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

I had a feeling that you would pop in on this thread. So I felt inspired to do my own version of the famed MONMIX pic... :D

P9160051.jpg

The pic is a bit blurry bit it still shows how good it looks now. I am very impressed with the NXT 2.0 wax. Its a bit had to buff out but it shines like no other wax I've every used. I can't imagine what my paint would be like if I actually used rubbing compound and buffed the crap out of it.

Wow, VERY impressive. That picture on the last page is NUTS.