Increase MPG on a 2003 Ford Explorer Sport? | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

Increase MPG on a 2003 Ford Explorer Sport?

ornithology

Reaction score
City, State
Vancouver, BC
Year, Model & Trim Level
'03 X Sport2dr 4.0 V6 XLT
Hi everyone!
I'm new to this forum but I've been creeping around for a while reading most of the posts in regard to 91-01 explorers. I just recently used my scholarship money to purchase a 2003 Ford Explorer sport 4WD 2dr. However, as I'm a student, I'm realizing my gas mileages are killing my wallet. I just pumped recently 45L for 275,000km, which works out to about 14.7mpg. I know the average should be 15mpg (correct me if I'm wrong, I got this off consumerreports or something). Anyways, are there any tips to increase my mileage? Air intake? Muffler? New plugs? Etc.

Another question, maybe off topic but my gas guage is also acting funny. Reading from the specs, I should have a 66L capacity in my tank, but when pumping from empty (according to the gauge) I only got 45L. I also noticed that as I accelerate on the highway, sometimes the gas gauge will RISE. Sometimes, when I start the truck, the gas needle will be off the TOP of the gauge, so it will be pointing at a blank dash, only after I re-start the car (turn off, then restart) will it reset back into it's normal position. Is this normal? What do you think is the cause of this inaccuracy of my gas gauge? Thanks in advance, I know it's two questions in one. If this is against the rules of the forum then please advise me and I will post as separate. THANKS!

Edit:
I forgot to add some information to determine what can help my MPG.