2003 Ex 4x4auto | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

2003 Ex 4x4auto

We have an '03 Ex 4.0 4x4 auto running 235/70/16s. I was wondering what is the tallest tire I can run on it and will it cause any ill effects on the auto part of the 4x4 this would have. I am new to the auto 4x4 system I do like it during bad weather though. Any feed back would be more than welcome.

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

You may not have auto 4x4 unless you have the Advancetrac system, so no need to worry about tires affecting that. You can run 265/75/16's without rubbing. You can fit 285/75/16's, but you'll have rubbing.

No it is the 4x4 auto with the 4high and 4 low buttons also. Auto is the everyday setting that kicks in when rears slip.

Yes I have that too, be sure to test it though to see if you really have the auto computer system. Usually on 3rd gens the auto 4x4 means 2wd.

No it is the auto system I have tried to play in the snow with it this past winter and ended up getting in one of the rangers so I could actually play with out having the front end kicking in every time I gassed on it. I helps on roads that arent in the best of shape but sucks when you want to play in it.

The auto 4x4 setting has nothing to do with advancetrac, and the 4x4 auto setting is not 2wd. If it only operates in 2wd in this setting with the rear axle slipping then somethings not working right or someone has done the brown wire mod on it.

The auto 4x4 has everything to do with the advancetrac, well on the 4th gens anyway. My 03' doesn't have the computer system in it to detect wheel spin, so for me 4x4 auto is 2wd. All I have is the anti-roll.

All 3rd gen 4x4 explorers (not awd) have auto 4x4. Like I said if yours doesn't work something is malfunctioning or it's been modded.