WTB New Explorer- Have concerns

gtnos

Reaction score
City, State
oklahoma
Year, Model & Trim Level
2013 Ford Explorer
hello, newbie here.

i am pretty big into fords, i currently own 3 (06 f150 4x4 screw, 06 stang GT, and 07 e350 van.) i have never owned an explorer, as the new model is the first explorer to really grab my attention.

wife and i are wanting to trade van for a new explorer, but we have a few concerns as i have read / heard of numerous nightmarish problems, mainly due to MYFORD touch.

what problems are there with the new explorers? and what is with the My Ford Touch system? i have heard of folks who were left without a/c, radio, etc. with nothing more than a blank screen. whats going on with that? has ford fixed it or what?

we are wanting the 4x4 v6 version, as we have a 24ft pontoon boat we tow from time to time, and 4wd is nice to have for loading ramps. (not to mention the occasional winter snowstorm.) how is that new 4x4 system with the select terrain dial? good or bad?

realistically, by the time we are ready to purchase the '14 models will probably be coming out. (probably looking at spring '13 for purchase). any plans from ford on updates or fixes in the '14s that you guys have heard about?

thanks in advance for all responses!!! :)

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

I have had an unbelievably bad experience with my 2011 and wish I could take the decision back. Yes, blame me because I spent $40,000 on a first year model change! Get real. I see the vehicles potential but Ford rushed this car to market. They couldnt even properly align the flippin trim on the dash. And the MFT? Its not even worth the time - the forums are littered with issues.