Question regarding Towing | Page 3 | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

Question regarding Towing

I'm a complete rookie at towing, but the wife & I are considering a travel trailer. We went to an RV show, talked a guy from an RV place that I'm pretty sure told me to have about 1000 lbs of headroom between my gross trailer weight & Explorer rated towing limit.

So, I've been looking at travel trailers with a GVWR between 3500 and 4000 lbs.

But, then I remembered about this site and thought I'd come see what everyone else is towing and how.

Be careful getting towing advice from salesmen, they are salesmen. Look into getting good sway control along with your weight distributing hitch. Another good resource is http://www.rv.net/forum/

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

Thanks Lewisra, I completely missed that....

I think that is one thing I hate about the merging of threads...

Be careful getting towing advice from salesmen, they are salesmen. Look into getting good sway control along with your weight distributing hitch. Another good resource is http://www.rv.net/forum/

I think in this case he was erring on the side of caution because he doesn't want to be in a situation where he's accused of selling too much trailer. And if he was really just in it for the money he would have tried to sale me a larger, more expensive one.

I found a trailer last night with a gvwr of 4400 lbs. I think this is right in the sweet spot of where I'd like to be. It looks just big enough for the 4 of us. We live in central Illinois. I'm not planning to haul this thing across the country and through mountains. If we ever get to that point, maybe I'll upgrade my vehicle.

Thanks Lewisra, I completely missed that....

I think that is one thing I hate about the merging of threads...