Brake Controller Plug and Wiring | Page 5 | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

Brake Controller Plug and Wiring

2014 Brake Controller

Hi Guys,

First off I want to say hello to everyone and very glad to be a member here, Forgive me if this is not be the correct place for the post as I am a newbie. I recently bought a 2014 Explorer sport with the Tow package and am looking to have a brake controller installed for a trailer I pick up next week. The trailer place offered to do it put I am a bit skeptical and don't want to mess up the factory warranty.
Let me know if anyone has had one installed recently and any recommendations. I would like to have a ford factory controller if it is available to work with this model.

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

:wavey:Welcome to the Forum SALTPOD.
As mentioned in my PM, I have merged your thread with this one. Hopefully you can find the info you are looking for here.

Peter

Update for anyone else looking for info on this, I got the brake controller installed yesterday, after talking with the Ford dealer who didn't have a clue, I researched it deeper myself and Ford does not make a specific brake controller for the explorer you have to go after market. My 2014 Explorer sport has a 4pin and a 7pin plug on the back and the tow package factory installed with this option there is a pigtail under the driver side dash which makes it easy to install the controller. To install the brake controller all was needed is the brake controller, I chose a prodigy II, and a pigtail wiring harness to fit the explorer's plug. The trailer dealer had it installed in less than 10 minutes. Thanks guys and good luck.

Wire coupling for electric brake controller.