'98 XLT Mystery Electrical Problems - Brakes, Windows, Cruise, Locks | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

'98 XLT Mystery Electrical Problems - Brakes, Windows, Cruise, Locks

Reaction score
City, State
Minneapolis, MN
Year, Model & Trim Level
1998 Ford Explorer XLT
Hey everyone! I've been driving this bad boy for 2 years now and it's always had electrical problems of some sort. I will list the symptoms first and after that I will list what I've tried to do about them. None of my solutions worked, so if anyone has any ideas I would be eternally grateful!

Brakes:
20 amp Fuse #13 in the cab Blows whenever I replace it, even when the brake is not pressed. However, the Running, Reverse, and License Plate lights work fine. When I press the brakes, if the fuse hasn't blown already, it blows after the interior lights dim.

I replaced the 6 Bulbs in the bottom lights and tried seeing if it was the bulb connectors grounding out by disconnecting all of them but the fuse kept blowing.

I removed the connector to the high mount LED brake light and yet the fuse kept blowing.

I replaced the Brake Sensor and the Fuse still blew.

So now I'm up **** creek on the brake circuit, does anyone have any clue as to where the circuit might be grounding?

Windows:
The rear passenger side window doesn't go down through use of any switch in the vehicle.

I haven't really done anything about this but I think by fixing other electrical problems this might be resolved because I think this is related to the locks and whatever is keeping them from working.

Power Locks:
They have never worked, from any switch on the vehicle. No idea where to go on this. I've checked the connector in the driver door but everything seemed fine. What else should I check?

Cruise Control:
The "Speed Cont" icon blinks randomly in the dash and doesn't turn on.

I've replaced the Brake Pressure switch in the engine bay, beyond that I've not sought out solutions.