Solved - Comparing LED bulb to my old Halogen bulb - Explorer 2013 | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

Solved Comparing LED bulb to my old Halogen bulb - Explorer 2013

Prefix for threads that contain problems that have been resolved, and there is an answer within the thread.

abdo1234

Reaction score
Year, Model & Trim Level
2013 Ford Explorer Base
Since we all know that Explorers have very poor yellowish Halogen headlights, I decided to change them and install HID. the thing is I do have my DRL enabled in both of my headlights, and installing HID will require me to disable my DRLs, either with Forscan or by heading to the dealer. so, while I was wandering around Amazon, I've found a lot of HID kits and LED kits as well, and since that some LED bulbs work great with DRLs, and don't require to install addition ballasts or a relay harness, I decided to go with LEDs and give them a shot.
as this is my first time buying LEDs, I went cheap and bought a kit from Amazon for 23.99 dollars only.

important: in this experiment, I will measure the brightest area of both, the low beam, and the high beam of each bulb, from 3 different distances. however, the lux meter that I'm using is actually my smartphone, so, measurements may not be as accurate as a real lux meter, but they will give you an idea of the difference between the LED bulb, and the Halogen bulb.

Let's start!

the LED bulb specs:
- Ravmix Led bulbs
- COB led chips
- 30 watt/bulb
- 3200 lumens/ bulb
- 6500k color temperature

- Here is the Ravmix LED bulbs kit
20180522_153750_HDR.jpg

20180522_153832_HDR.jpg

- Low beam. Passenger side (Halogen), Driver side (LED).
8-1.jpg

- High beam. Passenger side (Halogen), Driver side (LED).
8-2.jpg

- 5 ft Low beam
1-1.jpg

1-2.jpg

Measurements:
- Distance = 5ft.
- Halogen = 18000 Lux
- LED = 5600 Lux

- 30 ft Low beam
2-1.jpg

2-2.jpg

Measurments:
- Distance = 30 ft
- Halogen = 238 Lux
- LED = 110 Lux

- 30 ft High beam
2-3.jpg