Transmission slams into gear so hard that it feels like I just got rear ended | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

Transmission slams into gear so hard that it feels like I just got rear ended

Ted Rodriguez

Reaction score
City, State
Boerne, Texas
Year, Model & Trim Level
2013 Ford Explorer XLT
Callsign
OVER1K
2013 Ford Explorer -
Sometimes the transmission slams into gear so hard that it feels like I just got rear ended with a big bang!

Transmission shops will probably take advantage of me unless I have some knowledge of what I'm talking about.

I read somewhere that this might be due to the problem of having a worn out solenoid in the vale body?

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

2013 Ford Explorer -
Sometimes the transmission slams into gear so hard that it feels like I just got rear ended with a big bang!

Transmission shops will probably take advantage of me unless I have some knowledge of what I'm talking about.

I read somewhere that this might be due to the problem of having a worn out solenoid in the vale body?
Welcome to the Forum Ted.:wave:
There have been others that have had the same issue. Does this happen when starting off from a stop or after you've been accelerating? How many miles on it?
Also, what is that Callsign? I was not able to find it in the QRZ Callsign Data base.

Peter

Mine does the same. Really notice it when I am stuck in slow traffic. 5-10mph stop and go. Seems like it holds 1st, then wham it slams into 2nd.

I already had a transmission failure at 16k miles. They rebuilt the tranny and it still sucks in my mind. Even went with a Livernois tuner, which did help a bit.

Overall, my biggest complaint with my Explorer is the transmission. I am willing to be it fails again before 100k miles.