Tune up '96 XLT 5.0 just under 100000 miles 2 wd | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

Tune up '96 XLT 5.0 just under 100000 miles 2 wd

GeorgeR

Reaction score
City, State
SE FL
Year, Model & Trim Level
'96 XLT
Well, it's time I dove into a full fledged t.u. on my EX. I have many years experience with carbureted engines but this is my maiden voyage with efi and control modules etc.
I would like opinions on such things as double platinum plugs, are they worth the extra bucks??
What about Sea Foam? is it helpful etc. Do you think it might help clean the carbon out of my egr? The only trouble code it throws is "excessive egr flow"
It's running a mite rough at idle sometimes and I can feel a miss or two @ mid range speeds 50/60mph and that's also "sometimes" and it seems to be a gas hog. What say you folks? Can you give grampa George any salient advice?? And help me save money at the same time and help preserve my truck as it's probably the last vehicle I will have.
Many thanks
GeorgeR

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

stick with the motorcraft plugs. i recomend using sea foam because is one of those thinks that they really work.

EGR valve is pretty cheap and i would say just get a new one.

I don't think the Seafoam will fix the EGR. When mine did that, I tried taking it apart and scraping and cleaning all the build-up off it, but that still didn't work. There is a pin that must get pitted enough to keep it from seating properly. I ended up having to replace it. I wouldn't consider it cheap, but it's cheaper if you just replace it to start with, than try replacing everything else first (OK, I tried the sensor, and I cleaned the heck out of it, but still had the code).