Wanted Need Help

Parts or services wanted

92 Explorer

Reaction score
City, State
Pa
Year, Model & Trim Level
96 XLT
Hello my name is Austin. I have a 92 Ford Explorer that i had just recently bought for a project car. i would like to add a lift to it but i have no idea where to start.i am new to this whole thing with susspension lifts and i am looking for some experienced help to tell me alittle bit about adding lifts on Explorers and what type of problems i might run into. Any possible information in general about lifts and adding lifts to explorers and other things that i might have to change after the lift would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

Welcome to this forum! Sometimes lifted vehicles need to extend wiring harnesses. Bigger tires require either a different speedometer gear or an electronic calibration depending upon the year of the vehicle.

The extent of the changes required will be dependant on the size of lift. If you opt for a 2" lift then nothing else needs to be changed although stock shocks will be operating at max extension when unloaded. It will allow you to run 31" tires without rub issues or fender trimming. If you go higher, 4" or more, then you will have to extend brake hoses, longer shocks, most likely change pitman arm, possible regear diff ratio. Also the size of the tire you chose may require some fender trimming. There is a sticky in the tires and wheels forum with a chart depicting max sizes. There is lot of info on this site on the various lifts and work involved, one of the more popular is the SOA (spring over axle) conversion which will net between 4.5 and 5.5". The first question you have to answer is what is your intended use for this vehicle ie: rock crawling, mudding or just standing out a bit in town.

92 Explorer