4x4 transfer case issues.

ronsdeal

Reaction score
City, State
Taylor, WI
Year, Model & Trim Level
98 XLT
4x4; klunking, not engageing, lights work

Hi, I'm a newbie here. Just bought a 2000 explorer 2 door, auto, 4.0 Ltr, with 150k rounds.
Put it into 4 high, and as I was going up a wet grassy hill, rear tires started spinning, and was hearing a loud klunking/shaking sound. Tried 4 low, same deal. Front wheels are not engaged. Where do I start?
Thanks
Ron:exp:

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

welcome ron

Note the 4x4 will not turn all 4 tires evenly. Does it seem like it is slipping? If it has had a hard life your transfer case clutch may be bad. It's not an uncommon problem.

Slipping or not

Thanks for the welcome!!!
No, doesn't seem to be slipping. Seems to be shaking and no traction at all in the front. [I was going up a very modest incline on wet grass and I had to back up] Sombody said my front hubs could be junk.
Any easy way to isolate the issue?
Thanks

Sombody said my front hubs could be junk.

You don't have front hubs. At least not the selectable kind that whoever told you that thought you did.

I'd check the front driveshaft.

If you have no power to the front I would suspect the transfer case as being bad. Can you hear and feel the clunks and clacks when shifting from high to low? The shift motor might not be working correctly. Does it have 2wd, or 4 wheel auto?

I have a selector switch; either; Auto, 4 High, or 4 Low
Thanks
Ron

That's what I was thinking, but I wasn't sure if the Auto started in 98. Since it is always in 4wd it won't be a shift motor issue. All the fuses good? I'm not sure what powers the electromagnetic clutch in the t case.

Hi
Yes when I switch from either Auto to 4H, or 4H to 4L if I put it in neutral and then drive I do hear the load klunk.

Same crap-ola