New to Wiring/Trucks... | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

New to Wiring/Trucks...

Ok, so Im REALLY new to all this, and Ive spent about a week staring at every offroading lights thread I could find, and I just need someone to correct my thoughts, and tell me if they are right and if they arent, then how to correct them, thanks everyone! Oh and I have a 99 Mercury Mountaineer by the way :D

So Im wanting a simple setup to begin with, and cheap, just In case I mess up :D This is what Im wanting, and how I THINK I should wire it up, once again, I dont know anything about this, so PLEASE correct me on ANYTHING that is wrong!

2 55w lights on front bumper wired together to one switch
4 55w lights on stock roof rack wired together to one switch

ok, so let me get this straight:

Bumper Lights
Step 1: Mount lights on bumper
Step 2: Run wires to inside engine bay through grill
Step 3: Connect the two wires to relays
Step 4: Splice the wires from the 2 lights together
Step 5: Wire in an in-line fuse
Step 6: Run a wire from inline fuse to the switch
Step 7: Mount Switch
Step 8: Eat lunch ;)

Roof Lights
Step 1: Mount lights on roof rail
Step 2: Run wires through weather striping around door to engine bay
Step 3: Connect the 4 wires to relays
Step 4: Splice the wires from the 4 lights together
Step 5: Wire in an in-line fuse
Step 6: Run a wire from the inline fuse to the switch
Step 7: Mount switch
Step 8: Eat dinner ;)

So that is my plan! Any and ALL advise whould be GREATLY appreciated. If this plan sucks, please tell me, and add why lol! Im very new to this so I really need as much help as I can get. I havent dont the math yet, so once i get this approved that I know where everything goes then Ill need someone to help me with the numbers(What guage wire, what inline fuse, etc...)

Thank you for the help everyone!!!

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.