K&N for 4.6

falcon54

Reaction score
City, State
Westminster, Colorado
Year, Model & Trim Level
'03 4.6L limited
Hey guys,

I just recently got a magnaflow exhaust put on my 2003 limited and I love it. The sound and perormance are just what I was looking for. I am new to the whole mod thing and have done a lot of research and searching on the forum. I would like to get a cold air intake from jc Whitney, I am looking at the k&n 77 series for $280. If someone could give me their opinions of this particular cai and jc Whitney that would be great.

Thanks guys,
Tyler

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

Hey guys,

I just recently got a magnaflow exhaust put on my 2003 limited and I love it. The sound and perormance are just what I was looking for. I am new to the whole mod thing and have done a lot of research and searching on the forum. I would like to get a cold air intake from jc Whitney, I am looking at the k&n 77 series for $280. If someone could give me their opinions of this particular cai and jc Whitney that would be great.

Thanks guys,
Tyler

I have the K&N on my 4.6L. Put it on before I had my 50 series fm installed and the sound when you give it the gas is nice. I burned a lot of fuel just because I wanted to hear the nice roar. I'm sure it helps slightly performance wise but not enough to really notice too much. Now with that and the 50 series, my explorer sounds like a real truck. Makes driving much more pleasant :D

I have it on my 2005 4.6L and I love it. Easy to install, love the sound, and better throttle response. Go for it!

They "sound" good, but as far as performance goes.......that may be vehicle specific, since every vehicle makes different numbers to be specific.