How To: Replacing Front Hub / Bearing 1995+ Ford Explorer IFS | Page 12 | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

How To: Replacing Front Hub / Bearing 1995+ Ford Explorer IFS

I am new at this and in the middle of doing this for my 95 XLT on the driver's side. On the wheel end of the CV half shaft is what's left of a shaft seal that you don't mention renewing while you are doing the job. I already have the half shaft out, but the seal that I got from Advance doesn't appear to be the right application. Any help would be much appreciated.

is it rubber?

what I've noticed is that remanufactured half-shafts do not come with this, but the new units do.

When I first replaced my half-shafts, the originals I removed did not have this. No clue if the half-shafts were replaced before I bought the vehicle or not.

I wouldn't worry about it, as I never have.

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

chirpin in Alberta

My 97' Explorer 4.0 Sport has just started emitting a chirping/squeeking noise from front driver side hub, mainly at low speeds and over uneven road. I threw a jack under the front and wiggled the tire back and forth, there is some play in it but very little.Is it possible that the hub nut is just loose or does it automatically mean the bearing is shot?

I have noticed some comments on noises appearing after replacing the hubs, I believe the culprit could be the dust cover interfering with the rotor. I have fixed noises in brakes before simply by bending the dust cover away from the rotor. It is real easy to bend them by accident when laying them on the ground, especially the old rusted ones.