Stereo Overhaul

Sachem4

Reaction score
City, State
New York
Year, Model & Trim Level
'03 XLT
Hello everyone,

I have decided to overhaul the entire basic factory audio system in my '03 Explorer XLT. The system right now is the basic factory one. I am looking for a new deck, new tweeters and/or components, and 2 subs with the necessary amps. I am new to the audio customization, and am looking for some help. Could anyone recommend me any of these parts? I am looking for as much quality as I can for under around 900 dollars. Anyone have any ideas?

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

The only thing I am looking for in the system is powerful bass with good mid and high ranges.

Not sure on your budget, but Eclipse are outstanding head units. Infinity has some great component speakers for decent prices. As far as amps and subs go I've always loved MTX (I hit 145 db with my two tens!) but they're kind of spendy. Mostly don't skimp on the amp, subs, or wiring. Good luck and do a lot of shopping around, ebay, craigslist, crutchfield, then your local stores.

Kenwood and Pioneer make kick @55 headunits. I am very happy with mine.

I would recommend www.onlinecarstereo.com for most of the speakers.

My advice, get a headunit first, then speakers, then subs. You will build on your system with the money you have :p

Do you think I would have to install the speakers in new areas or can I use the factory setting? (two in the front kickboards two side boards)