• Register Today It's free!

Problem with ABS? Something else?

ChrisSnr

Reaction score
City, State
Norman, OK
Year, Model & Trim Level
2004 XLS
I'm having a rather strange problem with my 2004 Ford Explorer that I'm hoping someone can help me with...I'm not THAT experienced as a mechanic, but I have a couple of people who are pretty good -- but I'd just like to know what I'm in for as far as what might be wrong and how much it's going to cost and whatnot.

Basic stats: 2004 Ford Explorer XLS (?) with 4WD now @ 123k miles

Ok first things first, had to change the drivers side front bearing about 6 months ago. About 4 months ago this problem started.

The problem in question is that the car would make a horrible grinding noise and would tend to pull to the left, sometimes hard while decelerating. The noise was still there somewhat while accelerating, but there was no noticeable pull at all. This noise was definitely coming from the front end and I instantly feared the bearing was shot again. Checked it out and the new bearing was just fine.

Thought about it a bit and realized the only way the car would be pulling like it is would be if the tire on the left was moving slower than the tire on the right for some reason.

Next step was to take the tire off and check to see if the left front driver tire had any problems. It certainly did, as it did not spin continuously but constantly got 'held up' I guess is the best way to put it? The hub would spin but also stop intermittently. We tried a few basic things, but the one thing that actually 'fixed' the problem (or rather made it go away) was unplugging the abs sensor under the hood. Once we did that, the car no longer had the original issue. Of course, being that we basically put chewing gum on a leak that's not a viable long term solution.