2005 Explorer XLT 4.0. Ticking noise in the valve train. | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

2005 Explorer XLT 4.0. Ticking noise in the valve train.

Reaction score
City, State
NorthCentral illinois
Year, Model & Trim Level
2005 Explorer XLT 4door 4
On the pass side of my 4.0 05 xlt explorer i have a ticking noise that is not effecting the running at all. It runs on 6 cylinders clearly and has power,yet it is defenitely right under the pass side valve cover. No smokes no leaks no A Freeze in oil it is just a constant tick at idle and all speeds and gets slightly less violent the warmer it gets yet still bad. Broken valve spring? Loose cam bolts , loose follower/lifter (to some),timing chain (not likely runs so good) has anyone seen this before on these and what was the fix. Anyone who seriously knows about cars please answer i am a very experienced tech.just looking for clarity from someone who has seen this exact problem and please no younger know it alls who just guess on things from what they heard their dad or uncles say. I just changed out an 05 explorer 4.0 last week and have some spare parts on hand from old engine so im looking for someone who knows this problem to save me some time before i tear her down. Would like to save this engine but if i see its that bad im not gonna fix just replace whole engine so also if anyone has an 05 Explorer 4.0 with lower miles(10k-90k) for sale let me know.

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

Oil pressure is up and good and its defenitely not a fuel injector.

Then I'd say, probably timing chain tensioner. These SOHC V6's have been plagued with the timing chain tensioner problems. Its something that may need attention. Me, I have to get my X diagnosed first.