1997 Explorer Axle Problem | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

1997 Explorer Axle Problem

firejust

Reaction score
My friend's 1997 V6 4wd Explorer is having an issue with the passenger front axle. Here is a video of the problem:

There is clear wear on the inside of the caliper, on the rotor, and the tire has excessive negative camber. It looks like the CV axle is loose to me but I have no experience to base this on. I was only able to take off the wheel as I didn't have any of my tools with me. The rotor moves up and down and moves the axle along with it as can be seen in the video.

What exactly is wrong with this axle, how difficult is this to fix, and how much would it cost to have it repaired by a competent mechanic?

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

My friend's 1997 V6 4wd Explorer is having an issue with the passenger front axle. Here is a video of the problem: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xcCJf3-_c8w

There is clear wear on the inside of the caliper, on the rotor, and the tire has excessive negative camber. It looks like the CV axle is loose to me but I have no experience to base this on. I was only able to take off the wheel as I didn't have any of my tools with me. The rotor moves up and down and moves the axle along with it as can be seen in the video.

What exactly is wrong with this axle, how difficult is this to fix, and how much would it cost to have it repaired by a competent mechanic?

Looks like ball joint shot; cannot precisely see location of "play" in vid. imp

hub bearing unit is gone,

needs to be replaced asap!

The CV is fine. It floats and will always seem lose.