• Register Today It's free!

Need to buy new battery...

M1911A1

Reaction score
City, State
MICHIGAN
Year, Model & Trim Level
2004 explorer xlt
Sorry if this theme has been exhausted in the past, but I'm new to this awesome forum, and although I've tried to find info on current batteries, haven't seen much. I need a unit for my 04XLT 4X4 V8 with towing pck. We do tow our camper so we need a heavy duty battery for all the accesories. No complaints with the original equipment installed, since it lasted 78,000 miles. I'm incline to go with the same, but maybe you guys know of better options. Thanks in advance for any advise.

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

I replaced mine with a battery from Sams Club(Energizer I think) because it was the cheapest I found(around $80) and it works like a champ. Any good replacement will do what you want and be all you'll need;)

Batteries cost $1-2/month over their lifetime, so any thoughts of savings are illusory.

Buying the best battery means fewer replacements over time, and costs no more on a per month basis.

Buy any quality battery with a good warrantee and you'll be fine. Optimas are popular but have a less than admirable failure rate.

I went with a Sears Diehard Platinum. Not cheap but a good unit with a good warrantee, and replacable almost anywhere.

I've been sold on Motorcraft since the late 90's because I've never had one go bad before it's warranty expired. I've done Diehard, Champion and about any off brand you can find but the Motorcraft far out performed any of them.

Whatever battery you decide on, be sure it's anchored tightly in the tray. Vibrations from poorly anchored batteries can shorten their life span by more than half.

YMMV.

..... Vibrations from poorly anchored batteries can shorten their life span by more than half.

YMMV.