broke both rear coil springs | Page 7 | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

broke both rear coil springs

Thats what I said about mine until a few months later they started to sqeek and one side started to sag, Monroe quick struts are going in this week.

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

Broken Coils

I have a 2003 Eddie Bauer V8 and the two right side coils have been broken since I bought it.
It leans to the left which is no big deal.
The danger is on snow covered roads. It has a tendency to try and swing around to the right.
I am a professional driver with over 3 million miles and it scared me to drive it in the winter.
I will repair them in a week or two. Had other repairs needed first. Bad surge at idle and worn out front bearings. Also both front sway bushings were snapped off. Quick fix.
I like the vehicle so I am going to keep replacing and repairing at least for awhile.

Broken Coils

Sorry, it leans obviously to the right!!

Broken Coil Springs

I have the right front and right rear coils broken on my ride.
The danger is in snow especially.
The truck tries and turns right when it hits a snow windrow.
Scares the daylights out of people.

I just replaced both rear coil springs with struts this weekend and it wasn't a bad job.The left spring was broken on the second and third ring plus the coil was spun.The right side was not broken but the coil spun and the bottom rung was off the spring seat on the strut.

Has anybody changed the rear coil springs in an '02 explorer, it is a common problem
The car is jacked up,wheels off I feel a little stupid, I cant get the 3rd seat out rear nuts off of studs, what is next????.