• Register Today It's free!

New to me 2003 XLT - Rides Rough

swaldrop

Reaction score
City, State
Lithia, FL
Year, Model & Trim Level
2003 Ford Explorer XLT
I just bought a 2003 XLT 4.0 RWD with 92k miles. The car is in great shape but seems to ride really rough.

Disclaimer: To be fair, we are coming from a 2010 Honda Odyssey which I realize is like apples to the Explorer's oranges.

I would be willing to order up some parts to improve the ride as I know it is getting up there in miles. I just don't know what to get.

Ball Joints? Struts? Shocks? Compared to the monthly mortgage payment we were paying on the Van, these parts seem pretty cheap, so a fresh set of 'fill-in-the-blank' is most likely not out of the question.

Any tips on what to look, listen or feel for would be great.

Also, any advice on where to source the parts would be a bonus. I am not a car mechanic, but did spend 11 years working on commercial jets so I don't think these parts would be too tough to change.

Thanks in advance.

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

Welcome aboard!! :salute:

Check the rear springs. Broken rear springs is a common problem.

Good luck! :D:thumbsup:

Please keep us posted as feedback helps others reading this post looking for a fix to the same or similar issue!

Welcome aboard!! :salute:

Check the rear springs. Broken rear springs is a common problem.

Good luck! :D:thumbsup:

Please keep us posted as feedback helps others reading this post looking for a fix to the same or similar issue!

upper/lower ball joints, if you go oem they're about $24 ea. Check the struts for leaks. Bushing front and rear, most of your common fail points. God only knows how rough the other owner was.