• Register Today It's free!

Disable interior lights?

J_Love312

Reaction score
City, State
Imperial, Ca.
Year, Model & Trim Level
1997 Explorer XLT
This may sound like a stupid question, but I'm new with explorers. How do you disable the interior lights?

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

You really can't, unless you pull a fuse, but then you lose other functions. You could pull the bulbs, though. Or maybe custom up the door switch.

by "disable", you mean NEVER having them work... OR you mean turn them off once they have been turned on by a door/switch? I assume the second. The first is "easy"... just pull the bulb(s). The second might work IF you have one "instance" that you want this work on... for instance, open tail gate... then just pull the "sense wire" going to the tail gate door switch so the system doesn't know the state of the tail gate... all the other switches will still function as usual.

Sorry budwich,i meant to say bypass,temporarily. Like when I have the doors open while working on my car, etc, so the battery doesn't drain. My Tahoe, (hope I dont offend anyone with that word, lol) had a button you push to override then if you want them off temporarily. I gues ill just pull the bulbs. Thanks for the info.

I don't know if it was like this on your year, but mine will turn off by themselves after a few minutes with the door open. Also the dash light dimmer wheel will turn mine off.

The Explorer is the only vehicle I have ever had where the illumination dimmer doesn't have a detent at the end to turn the lights off completely. Must be the same reason Ford won't let us turn off the AC independently of the mode switch!! Mother knows best??:D

If I roll the dash light dimmer all the way down on my 99 there is a detent that turns the dome light off.