how can i make i beam brackets

xurnameherex

Reaction score
City, State
oroville california
Year, Model & Trim Level
1992 explorer
Hey everybody I just started lifting my ex 5.5 inches and cannot seem to find
The I beam brackets for under 200. Is there anyway to make them and if some one has can u tell how and the measurments

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

I have 5.5" drop brackets on my explorer. With the kind of stresses that these things have to deal with I wouldn't even consider trying to make your own unless you are a skilled welder/metalworker.

When I got my brackets off of my donor vehicle I inspected them carefully and found that one of them had a crack. I took them down to a buddy of mine and had him professionally fix the crack and weld an extra 1/4" steel plate all around the (obvious) weak spot. The extra plating does not interfere with the operation of the bracket, and I believe that it is now much stronger than it was originally.

I just can't find them for under 200 I found 1 at pick an pull pulled it but left it by the gate and they crushed it:(

Do you think a 4 inch bracket would work ?

Is there anyway to make them and if some one has can u tell how and the measurments

This is one case that this really applies: If you have to ask if they can be made, you should not be making them!

Seriously, these are crucial suspension parts. Asking a question like "is there anyway to make these?" does not inspire enough confidence that you can make them.

You also seem to be forgetting that you cant just use drop brackets. You are going to need (including, but not limited to) coils, extended radius arms, a drop pitman arm and you need to get an alignment. It is going to cost you well over $200. A drop pitman arm alone is about $200.