Azaizai's '96 5.0 XLT | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

Azaizai's '96 5.0 XLT

(I've been watching a lot of British Top Gear...my apologies if this gets wordy)

Well, I did it again. I had a budget set, a goal to attain...and I managed to get snagged on another RBV. Ya see, I'm supposed to be pinching pennies and shaking out jeans in an effort to get my head above the recent household purchases.

Then a friend, the same friend that turned my relatively stock 1997 ranger into a capable off-road vehicle, told me about a deal he had going on a 5 liter explorer. Now ever since I started learning about the Ranger based vehicle experience, I've loved the idea of having a small block in the front of one. I knew I liked the disc braked 31 spline 8.8 in the back of the explorers...and having a little dirt under my fingernails, I knew I liked the newer non-TTB front suspension for the limited, non-extreme wheeling I was accustomed to. All of those in the same package? Ok...lets talk.

Turns out it was owned by a former service writer from the shop I work at. Well, technically his ex-wfe...and their 5 kids. Yes 5. In an explorer. Oh man. I'm convinced that all 6 of them, thats the wife and kids, were out to ruin this truck to spite their former family member. Interior...shot.

Well, apparently those kids had a lot of extra curricular activities on their schedule and they put a lot of miles on the poor old thing. 189 on the clock (10k less than the ranger I was giving up). Though, thanks to the father, the explorer got some maintenance during this period. Some decent shocks (Monroe sensa-track), alignments (performed, quick ironically, by me), and a trip to the Ford shop for a check engine light that they threw parts at (DPFE, O2 sensors and a MAF).