2002 4x4 problems | Page 10 | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

2002 4x4 problems

I have, did it just the way the owner's manual instructs. The indicator light on the button flashes for several seconds then remains off and the dash light doesn't engage in the least, save for the initial ignition. The flashing on the button is much like how it is described in the manual when its waiting for operator input.

In short, picking the low button in neutral with the break depressed yields the same result as picking it in any other driving condition.

thoughts?
Mmmm... I'm not an expert, just had to replace my own 4x4 control module because local (Australia) dealer couldn't! Just been out to test mine again and:

1) turn on ignition - 4x4 high & 4x4 low lights in dash come on briefly
2) gear in neutral and foot firmly on brake, press button, flashes a bit and then stops and 4x4 low light stays on.

Doesn't matter whether engine is started or not.

If that doesn't work for you then it could be something to do with the transfer case switch maybe? There is plenty of info on this site.

Good luck :)

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

I have, did it just the way the owner's manual instructs. The indicator light on the button flashes for several seconds then remains off and the dash light doesn't engage in the least, save for the initial ignition. The flashing on the button is much like how it is described in the manual when its waiting for operator input.

In short, picking the low button in neutral with the break depressed yields the same result as picking it in any other driving condition.

thoughts?

Welcome aboard!! :salute: