Tire chains for 20" wheels? | Page 2 | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

Tire chains for 20" wheels?

I've been driving in the snow for over 40 years. Only once, three years ago, did I have to place chains on my four wheel drive 2004 Cayenne. The driveway to the condo in Brian Head Utah is full or ruts, mud and slush. It is also steep. The cable chains provided just enough extra traction to get us up this through this ridiculous junk. One thing I learned is that if you use chains on a FWD/AWD vehicle, it is advisable to chain all four wheels. Apparently, chains on only two drive wheels causes the traction control modules to be confused sending torque to the wrong drive wheels. The internet is full of research on this and of course, their are differing opinions. My feeling now is that if the AWD doesn't get me to where I need to go safely, I probably ought to turn around and wait. I'll just carry the chains for inspection purposes.

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

What I was thinking is that in emergency situation, putting cables on front, then activating sand mode will turn off traction control and force all power to all wheels.

I agree

I have the 2011 Limited with 20's. I also drive 50 and 80 in the winter. Just have a cheap pair in a case with you at all times. This is the current law. If the alert is mandatory to have chains on then I will not be on the road. There is just not enough clearance even with cables. YOu will most likely damage the vehicle.

California Tire Chain Requirements