recommend sub(s) for my amp?

Xeek

Explorer Addict
Reaction score
City, State
Virginia Beach, VA
Year, Model & Trim Level
1991 xlt
so ive had this power acoustik cpt4 1400 laying around for awhile. got it free and it does work. been wanting to put it in the ranger. i know nothing about sound and how to pick out a sub for the amp. i want a 10" or 12" sub, maybe two subs? whatever an expert thinks is best.

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

It all depends on the music you listen to. I would put no more than 10s to it bridged in 2ohm mode and run your fronts off the other 2 channels. I know its says 1400 watts but you will never get it to put that out. It is rated at 480 in 4ohm stereo so don't push it. I have been a car audio installer since 1991 and am MECP Master Certified. If you have any questions just ask and i will answer as best I can.

He answered it perfectly. ^

A 10 inch is more punchy, where as a 12 inch will give you a more deep sound. I personally prefer the punchy-ness of a 10.

I mix up what I listen to honestly.
I know ill never see 1400w lol. Am I safe to say 2 amps at 250w each? 2ohm but svc or dvc?

And what do you mean by my fronts? Just the door speakers? I have speakers in the rear also, am I gonna be not using them out something?

I mix up what I listen to honestly.
I know ill never see 1400w lol. Am I safe to say 2 amps at 250w each? 2ohm but svc or dvc?

And what do you mean by my fronts? Just the door speakers? I have speakers in the rear also, am I gonna be not using them out something?

I'll tell you my opinion I guess.
At 1400W max, you can safely run 2, 300 Watt Max subs, without a problem.
You can run either coil.
Just get something at a good price.
SonicElectronics is having a 3 day sale that ends tomorrow, great sub deals.