AWD vs AUTO 4x4

fireball 440

Reaction score
City, State
minnesota
Year, Model & Trim Level
2015 Police Interceptor
Explain the difference.

My 2005 has Auto 4x4 and I can't stand the way it's constantly clunking into 4x4. I'm just waiting for something to break. Is there a way to disable this and have the 2wd option?

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

My understanding is that AWD is just that All-Wheel-Drive and all the time. Where Auto 4x4 is 4x4 "when you need it" I hate it too but i know of no way to disable it.

How does each system work? Under my Explorer today changing oil I did not see a front axle disconnect motor, so how does it work? And why does it clunk?

Since everything is electronic, is there a way to disable and only have rear wheel drive?

I really dont know how the system works exactly, I am an industrial mechanic not an auto mechanic, But if you really really want to disable it search for the Brown Wire Mod. Essentially you just have to put a switch in the brown wire that connects the system to the transfer case and you can disable the 4x4. But from my understanding there are no real benifits to doing this. Its more if you have a preference between the two or if the truck switching to 4x4 every so often annoys you. It has not been proven to improve MPG because you are still moving the same amout of weight no matter which mode you are in. If anything it will only give you 1 or 2 MPG better. Also note if you have an AWD system and not a ControlTrac(Auto 4x4) you cannot do this mod.

brown wire mod - sounds what I am looking for! Thank You! I am not concerned about MPGs that is not my concern. I just want selectable 2wd and 4wd, none of this automatic clunking in and out crap, something is going to break. Thanks!