choice: repair 1999 V6 ~165K loose timing chain vs buy used 2000 XLS at ~175K miles | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

choice: repair 1999 V6 ~165K loose timing chain vs buy used 2000 XLS at ~175K miles

igotaford

Reaction score
City, State
Raleigh, NC
Year, Model & Trim Level
1999 Explorer Eddie Bauer
(reposted from my new members post with more info since then)
Hi all,

I've read for advice on this website many times for guidance on issues with my truck. So I'm asking for advice on my scenario:

I have a 1999 V6 Eddie Bauer ~165K miles been driving about 5-6 years. I'm not a proficient mechanic. It has a loose timing chain. Estimate is $3000 to repair. (Originally quoted $1500 but they had not correct engine id). On the other hand I see a used 2000 XLS at ~175K miles, claimed to be in good condition, seller is asking $1800 (it looks like a typical mileage from similar postings on craigslist).

I'm contemplating buying the 2000 XLS and seeing about getting the timing chain repaired later, and keeping 1999 off road for time being. Shop says the vehicle is drivable but they have no forecast for when chain could go which I suppose would trash the engine. I've just put $600 into it this month for new muffler & brakes.

If I tried to repair timing chains later as hobby project as newbie how likely am I to crash and burn? (I used to maintain my Bug but admittedly rather easy ...)

Is it worth the money to fix timing chain now? I know of no other major issues on the vehicle.

What questions should I ask about the 2000 XLS of the seller? I would plan on paying a mechanic to look at it.

Thoughts ? If I'm going to spend about $2K is there an alternate sedan / SUV I should consider?

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!