HID Install +Pics - Step by Step | Page 8 | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

HID Install +Pics - Step by Step

I'm not an expert and I don't even own my 2014 Sport yet but I've been reading up on the HID conversions. I absolutely will do something to my Sport when it arrives as I currently drive a 2011 WRX STi with HIDs. They are so "clean" and bright compared to halogens its sort of a wonder why manufacturers don't offer it in every vehicle.

Anyhow, from my reading the difference between the halogen projectors and the HID projectors is the cutoff and focus of light. The cutoff is the most important aspect IMO because it keeps you from blinding oncoming traffic. The focus is less important as all modern projector beam headlights focus the light that emits from the sides of the bulb out the front of the projector, thats much more efficient because as you can see by looking at any bulbs the light is emitted from the sides and not the front of the bulb so focus is important but not as much as the sharp cutoff thats desired from HID housings.

If you're REALLY interested browse through other forums that are doing the exact same thing as here. There are Explorer owners who have done the projector swap just as the F-150 people are doing, its certainly more involved but will give you a better finished product...

http://www.f150online.com/forums/il...13-ford-oem-hid-headlights-now-available.html

I'm currently looking at getting the housings from a Limited with HIDs and then retrofitting from there...BUT you lose the cool blacked out housing... sheesh Ford c'mon!!!

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

Lackluster Morimoto experience yesterday