Growling, grinding noise from front end | Page 4 | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

Growling, grinding noise from front end

bump

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

I have a 2002 Explorer XLS 6cyl.

At about 110,000, I started having what I thought was tire noise. It was a whomp-whomp-whomp which got louder around 60mph but reduced at 70mph. The sound would speed up with speed of the car. It got progressively worse til I had it checked out when I replaced my front brakes. They told me front wheel bearing assemblies needed replacement...cost about 600-800. I said thanks, I'd think about it. Looked up online and found parts were about $70 per bearing and instructions on how to replace them. I am not a mechanic but am halfway handy and had no trouble with the job using had tools--need torq wrench, except for some trouble with rusted on bolts.

My Dad has a 2002 Explorer Limited V8.

He had noise when he took slow turns. Sounded like front tire was rubbing against the inside of the wheel well. We could not figure it out. Finally, saw a post on internet that said this was a rear differential problem. Strange cause it sounded like it was coming from front. We took in in and they fixed it-- unsure of cost-- and the sound disappeared.

Dads front bearings went out about 75,000. I had already done mine, so I volunteered. The hubs we ordered for him, I think were a little better quality that the ones I used on mine, but they were about same price or a little less. Having done it before, the second time it took less than half the time, plus his bolts were not rusted.

I would heartily recommend using the dealer for diagnosis only, and ordering parts and doing it yourself if at all possible.