• Register Today It's free!

new guy has a few questions

muttin_chop_king

Reaction score
City, State
warrensburg missouri
Year, Model & Trim Level
2000 ford explorer
Hey guys I just picked up a 2000 explorer from a friend for really cheap and have a few ideas on what to do with it, but I have a few questions first.
first off its a 2000 explorer, 220,000 miles, xlt, 4x4, 4.0 v6
a few questions
is it worth it to drop in a v8? this things is only getting 15 mpg in the city right now so I cant see that getting too much worse, and the power right now isn't too bad but I plan on getting bigger tires and don't know if the 6 is big enough

cheapest ways to lift it? im a college student so I don't have much money

sas easy/worth it for the cost?

any problem areas I should look for n the vehicle and plan ahead for?

Is it worth it to keep and build the explorer or should I just trade and buy a truck or jeep? I plan on beating my car up and don't know if this explorer is the best way to to, I could sell and make a profit and buy something a little bit more capable

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

Spend some time searching the forum

There is a huge wealth of info in here!

Most of your questions are a matter of personal opinion.

I would run the 4.0l into the dirt before I did a swap. The factory horsepower is actually pretty close between the two, again use the search feature.

Cheapest lift is a torsions twist and either fab or purchase rear lift spring lift shackles.

SAS depends who you ask but I don't think it is "cheap".

Problem areas aren't really different than any other vehicle, stuff wears out.

This is an Explorer forum so I believe most of the answers will be keep and build it, which is what would do/am doing.

That's my 2 cents and welcome to the forum!