Bad or Burnt Exhaust smell in cabin during hard acceleration. | Page 69 | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

Has anyone heard of, found, or experienced a solution to the Ford Explorer exhaust issue?

• Total voters
So, I taped off the seam of the rear hatch and ran it hard all day yesterday - smell almost entirely gone! I studied the hatch weatherstripping a bit and noticed that there are areas where it appears the seal is not evenly distributed. I believe this to be related to the curvature of the rear hatch. As you can see in the pic, there is a line on the paint where the seal is lying. Around the hatch catch area the line seems to fade out. I pulled the weatherstripping away from frame - it is very wedged in there, it will take some effort. This is good though, as I repositioned outward and believe it should maintain its pressure against the hatch. When I closed the hatch it's feel "softer" than before. I would always have trouble getting the hatch to close (would not catch), and believe this to be related to the lack of pressure being exerted from the weatherstripping. I drove into work this morning (driving very hard on the interstate) and the smell is 90-95% gone. Only a small reminence remains, but that could just be in my head lol. I advise everyone to try this, or maybe apply a second make-shift weatherstripping on the hatch side.

Attachments

• weatherstrip.jpg
    weatherstrip.jpg
    57.3 KB · Views: 394

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

Your photo was too large. Scrolling L/R is required to read the post. Try and keep pictures to a max size of 800X600.

Peter

Your photo was too large. Scrolling L/R is required to read the post. Try and keep pictures to a max size of 800X600.

Peter