2002 Explorer 4.0 Coolant Leak, Heater Hose? | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

2002 Explorer 4.0 Coolant Leak, Heater Hose?

whatwithall

Reaction score
City, State
Phoenix, AZ
Year, Model & Trim Level
2002 XLT
Hello, this is my first time posting here, although I have been browsing as a guest for a while now. Anyways, I was wondering if anyone here could help me identify what is going on with my girlfriend's Explorer.

It has been running hotter than usual lately, which I expected since the weather is heating up, but the other day, I went inside to pay for gas and when I came out, coolant was pouring from out of the cap. Not sure what to do, I walked over to AutoZone and bought a new cap and a gallon of antifreeze. I assumed the cap was no longer holding pressure.

Fast forward to today now, and as I was driving along, the truck started getting hotter than it ever had before, pretty much all the way to the top of the gauge. I instinctively turned on the heater to try and cool it down a little and buy a couple seconds only to find it was not blowing hot air at all. I did manage to coast home (I was right down the street) and when I got home, I removed the cover from over the throttle body and discovered that a hose had broken off from its fitting. Is this the hose that runs to the heater core? If so, is there an easy way to just bypass it? I mean, I'm not afraid to give it a shot, I just changed my intake manifold on my Crown Vic and that wasn't too overwhelming for me or anything, but I'm totally unfamiliar with the 4.0 engine. I took a couple pictures to try and show you what I am looking at. I am also wondering what would have caused this hose to break off this way.

Any help would be greatly appreciated,

Thanks in advance!

20110607193544.jpg

20110607193535.jpg

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.