ieee_raider

Reaction score
City, State
Paris, TX
Year, Model & Trim Level
2013 Ford Explorer Sport
Hey IVT!
Please listen to your customers.
We with the original Sync want to be able to upgrade to Sync 3.
I understand it's not a simple software update and will require new hardware as well.
Please make this available for existing customers and that will carry through a long ways in customer loyalty.

$300, awesome. $400 fine, no problem. $500, let's not get greedy Ford...

I created this intentionally as a new thread as a discussion of Sync 3 for exiting MFT customers.

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

I would pay $500 for the upgrade even though I have had no issues, except for some initial learning curve frustration. That being said I have only had it a month.

I would pay for the upgrade just because I'm a tech freak. The current system isn't bad at all.

There is no way it would only cost $500 or less for the upgrade though. Think about this for a second. If you were to buy a tablet, you're going to pay anywhere between $300 and $600. Buying a tablet doesn't require anyone to install something but the upgrade to Sync 3 obviously would. If Ford does offer it as an upgrade, I wouldn't be surprised if it cost closer to $1000 after the install.

I would pay for the upgrade just because I'm a tech freak. The current system isn't bad at all.

There is no way it would only cost $500 or less for the upgrade though. Think about this for a second. If you were to buy a tablet, you're going to pay anywhere between $300 and $600. Buying a tablet doesn't require anyone to install something but the upgrade to Sync 3 obviously would. If Ford does offer it as an upgrade, I wouldn't be surprised if it cost closer to $1000 after the install.

I could see that with install.
I was thinking $500 for the hardware.