How To: Paint your headlights black | Page 3 | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

How To: Paint your headlights black

NHarris said:
Except its a ***** to get all the sealant off...especially since it hardens back up quickly.

Mine peeled right out. I started it with an x-acto knife. I did it right away though...

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

Mine peeled right out. I started it with an x-acto knife. I did it right away though...

I made the mistake of waiting... I was a noob to cars back then...

And look how much you've grown lol

Back when I bought the X, I thought it had a similar suspension to the second gen. Then I figured out it was fully independent; then I wondered why ya'll were *****ing about it...then i figured it out... lol

Can i paint them with plasti dip or?

If you're going through all the effort to bake them apart, I'd say go for the paint instead. Yeah, the plasti is reverseable, but that would involve baking them again to remove it. Commit. Paint.

Thanks for the post NHarris

This looks like it will be fun to do. Thanks for the idea!

First I would like to thank fedyfedz for giving me the advice needed for this project.
This project is done at your own risk and any damage is not my responsibility
The picture of the lights taped off belongs to fedyfedz. If there is any problem with me using the picture on this write up, please let me know.
This is a HOW TO thread on painting headlights. There aren't many pictures, but its a straight forward process.

Things you will need:
Oven
Small/large Flat head screw driver
Clear RTV sealant
Rubber Bands
Gloss Black Paint
UV resistant clear coat
paper towels
A lot of time