Anti Theft Light Flashing On Dash , Car wont start. | Page 3 | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

Anti Theft Light Flashing On Dash , Car wont start.

anti-theft light flashes rapidly.

truck wont start anti-theft light flashes rapidly. owner manual states to call dealer. does vehicle have go to dealer or is there reset that can be done at home:usa:

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

Flashing theft light

Hi all, please take this for whatever it is worth. I'm not a mechanic, just a busy mom. My 1997 Expedition will sometimes flash its theft light, the engine will start, but immediately shuts off. In the past, I had resolved it with a spare key. After it re-sets and starts, the other key that wouldn't start it mysteriously works again too. However, I had a different situation this time. It pulled this little stunt on me again and the spare key trick did not work. I unhooked the battery - no go. Finally, out of pure frustration, I remembered that when I programmed my keys myself (do NOT pay a dealer for this because it is ridiculously easy), it involved using the lock/unlock switch on the door. I had my child waiting impatiently for me to drive her to school and on a whim - I pressed/toggled the lock/unlock switch on the door handle multiple times. How many? Couldn't tell you for sure, but I would guess it was around 20 or so - very rapidly. My daughter looked at me like I had lost my mind and before she could even ask what the heck I was doing, I tried the key again, turned it and VOILA! I have no idea why it worked, but it somehow reset it. No problems since. All keys work again. I suppose that the ECM could be going out - but if you are stuck and just need to get it started (even to just get it to a mechanic), it might be worth a shot. Please, no lectures here about the silline